Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin announced today via Twitter that Tax Day will be moved from April 15th to July 15th which gives Americans an additional three months to file taxes.

At @realDonaldTrump’s direction, we are moving Tax Day from April 15 to July 15. All taxpayers and businesses will have this additional time to file and make payments without interest or penalties.


The deadline to pay was already pushed back by the Treasury Department on March 11th, but the filing deadline remained the same.

Outside of when Tax Day falls on a weekend or holiday and occurs on the next business day, the April 15th deadline to file has not changed since 1955 — the last time the deadline was officially changed. Originally, the deadline was set to March 1st in 1913 (the first year of income tax) and moved again to March 15th in 1918.

No official order or document or release of the Tax Day move is available yet on the US Department of the Treasury or White House websites.